CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC. TO PROTECT OUR CUSTOMERS AND STAFF, ACCESS TO OUR BUILDING IS CLOSED. Staff is working to continue to deliver essential services. A drop slot is available to drop off paperwork.
RENEWAL SEASON IS HERE for Districts 1, 2, and 3, ONLINE RENEWALS ARE NOW AVAILABLE. In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution #71, renewal fees for the above mentioned districts have been suspended, at this time. You will be required to submit a completed renewal dealership application, a surety bond or continuation certificate and a current certificate of insurance. All salesperson renewal applications will have to be submitted and this application fee is not suspended, so you will be required to pay the $25.00 application fee.
NOTE: ALL DEALER SEMINARS ARE CANCELED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE
Initial renewal deadline:
November 15th (Guaranteed license by January 01st)
Final renewal deadline:
December 31st – $100.00 late fee will be applied
February 01st – renewals received after this date must submit paper applications, initial requirements and $100.00 late fee
The Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission (LUMVC) was created by Act 773 of the 1984 Louisiana Legislature on September 4, 1984 and is composed of ten members appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate, which include five (5) used motor vehicle dealers, three (3) consumer representatives, one (1) dismantler and parts recycler representative, and one (1) auction representative. The LUMVC is the authority that licenses and regulates the used motor vehicle industry involving the sale of used motor vehicles. The Commission receives no state General Funds. Revenue is self-generated by licensing fees, auction transaction fees and fines. Chapter 4C Title 32 (R.S. 32:781 – 808) of the Louisiana Criminal Law and Motor Vehicle Handbook sets forth the definitions and general provisions for regulation of the used motor vehicle industry. Currently, there are over 6000 licensees that are governed by the LUMVC which include; used motor vehicle dealers, automotive dismantler and parts recyclers, motor vehicle crushers, rent with the option to purchase dealers, daily rental dealers, auction dealers, used parts and accessories dealers, and salespersons.
- Dealer Seminar – CANCELED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE
- State Holiday – January 18, 2021
- Commission Meeting – January 25, 2021
- Commission Meeting – February 15, 2021
- State Holiday – February 16, 2021