Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission....

MAY be able to help if:

- You are having trouble getting a title.
- You have trouble with warranty repairs.
- You think someone is an unlicensed dealer or salesperson.
- The dealer did not properly disclose a problem with your vehicle.
- You think someone tampered with the odometer.
- If the dealer is in violation of any of the LUMVC statutes.
- Other fraudulent misrepresentations.

MAY NOT be able to help if:

- You repaired the vehicle without giving the dealership the opportunity to repair it first.
- A long time has passed since you bought the vehicle.

The LUMVC CANNOT:

- Give legal advice
- Investigate complaint against private parties
- Investigate most complaints about the condition of used cars.

Buying A Vehicle

When buying a vehicle from a dealer, consider the purchase price as well as the terms of finance, warranty, the cost of a service contract, and insurance.

Before accepting delivery of the vehicle, check to make sure all promised options and equipment have been included. It is recommended you have the vehicle inspected by your own certified mechanic.

Every used vehicle offered for sale by a dealership should have a "Buyers Guide" on a side window. "As-Is" on a contract means you pay all repair cost after you sign the contract. If you leave a deposit on a vehicle, you may not receive a refund if the purchase is not completed.

Dealers are required to deliver your title within 20 days after purchase. After 40 days from the date of sale, penalty and interest will begin to accrue.

Consumer Tips

- Always read contracts carefully before you sign them
- Never sign any blank documents or without reading it carefully.
- Get all promises and other terms in writing.
- Do not rely on spoken promises.
- Always keep your title in a safe place. Do not keep the title in your vehicle.

There is no fee for the meditation of complaints through this agency.

HOW TO FILE A CONSUMER COMPLAINT

Consumer's Guide to Filing a Complaint on a Dealership



Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission

3132 Valley Creek Dr. Baton Rouge, LA 70808 (225) 925-3870 www.lumvc.louisiana.gov



When You Have A Complaint.....

There is something you can do about misrepresentation, license plate, registration, or title delays by an used motor vehicle dealer in Louisiana.

This brochure is intended to make filing a consumer complaint easier for you.

The Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission "LUMVC" is responsible for licensing and regulating independent used car dealerships and investigating complaints regarding used motor vehicle sales, auctions, crushers, automotive dismantlers, rent with the option to purchase, daily rentals, and used parts and accessories.

This brochure may help you resolve a complaint directly with the dealership. If you cannot reach a satisfactory settlement, you may fill out the attached form to receive assistance from the Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission.

For further explanation of your rights as a consumer, please visit our website at <u>www.lumvc.louisiana.gov</u>.

WHAT DO I DO?

The First Step: Discuss the situation with the dealer.

When you have a problem, talk to the owner or business manager about it right away. By doing so, you may be able to work out a settlement.

Keep these five points in mind when you talk to the business owner or manager:

- 1) Be courteous and calm.
- 2) Explain the problem accurately. Provide dates, estimated or billed amounts and as many other facts as you can.
- 3) State what you think is a fair settlement or correction.
- 4) State whether you are willing to negotiate.
- 5) If you cannot get a satisfactory settlement, you may wish to tell the business that you will file a complaint with the state.

The Second Step: How to file a complaint?

Complete the consumer complaint form and submit copies of paperwork relating to the transactions including contracts, bill of sale, receipts, repair orders, warranties, etc. *Please provide copies that are legible to read.*

The Commission will process your complaint and will be assigned to a Compliance Investigator.

Complaint forms can be submitted:

- Online at www.lumv.louisiana.gov.
- By email at info@lumvc.louisiana.gov
- Mail to LUMVC, 3132 Valley Creek Dr., Baton Rouge, LA 70808
- Fax to (225) 925-3869
- By dropping forms at LUMVC

Complaint Process

- Typically, within 1-2 weeks of receiving your complaint, the LUMVC will send you an acknowledgment letter noting the contact information of the Compliance Investigator in charge of investigating your complaint.
- Your Investigator will review your complaint and get an explanation from the dealer on their position.
- Your Investigator may contact you for more information or details are needed.
- Your Investigator will contact you pertaining the results of the investigation.

NOTE: Please allow 4-6 weeks for the investigation to be completed. Be advised that in some circumstances the timeframe for completing the investigation may be longer than the allotted timeframe; this will depend upon the complexity of the matter.

Contact Us

Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission 3132 Valley Creek Drive Baton Rouge, LA 70808 (225) 925-3870 Email: <u>info@lumvc.louisiana.gov</u> Website: <u>www.lumvc.louisiana.gov</u>