

LOUISIANA USED MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION 3132 Valley Creek Drive Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70808 Kim Baron (225) 925-3866 or <u>kimbaron@lumvc.louisiana.gov</u> Tonya Burks (225) 925-3865 or <u>tburks@lumvc.louisiana.gov</u> Fax # (225) 929-7438 www.lumvc.louisiana.gov

CONSUMER COMPLAINT PROCESS

TAKE A FEW MINUTES TO REVIEW THIS PROCESS SHEET AND COMPLETE ALL SECTIONS OF THE COMPLAINT FORM.

- 1. Discuss the situation with the dealer before you file the complaint to allow the dealer the opportunity to resolve the problem.
- 2. Complaints must be submitted on the consumer complaint form. Fill out the form as completely as possible. You can submit the form and relating paperwork via mail, email, or fax.
- 3. It is important to attach copies of all paperwork relating to this transaction including; contracts, bill of sale, receipts, repair orders, warranties, etc. Do not send originals.
- 4. The Commission will process your complaint and a Compliance Investigator will be assigned to your case.
- 5. There is no fee for the mediation of complaints through this agency.

The Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission ("LUMVC") handles complaints regarding:

- Used Motor Vehicles Sales
- Automotive Dismantlers
- Daily Rentals

➤ Auctions

- Rent with the Option to Purchase
- Used Auto Parts And Accessories

Motor Vehicle Crushers

**We DO NOT handle complaints with private parties or individual sales.

What happens after the LUMVC receives my complaint?

- > Typically, within 1-2 weeks of receiving your complaint, the LUMVC will send you an acknowledgment letter noting:
 - Your case number
 - The name and contact information of the Compliance Investigator in charge of investigating your complaint.
- > Your Investigator will review your complaint and get an explanation from the dealer on their position.
- > Your Investigator may contact you if more information, details, or documents are needed.
- > Your Investigator will review all paperwork, responses, and documents.
- > Your Investigator will contact you pertaining the results of the investigation.
 - If no evidence of a violation is found, the Investigator will so advise and explain why the investigation is being closed.
 - If we feel that the law has been violated, the agency will pursue administrative action.

<u>NOTE</u>: Please allow 4-6 weeks for the investigation to be completed. Be advised that in some circumstances the timeframe for completing the investigation may be longer than the allotted timeframe; this will depend upon the complexity of the matter.

The Loui	isiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission MAY be able to he	lp if:	
	You are having trouble getting a title. You have trouble with warranty repairs. You think someone is an unlicensed dealer or salesperson. The dealer did not properly disclose a problem with your vehicle.	A A A	You think someone tampered with the odometer or misrepresented the reading. If the dealer is in violation of any of the Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission statutes particularly R.S. 32:792 Other fraudulent misrepresentations.
The Loui	siana Used Motor Vehicle Commission MAY NOT be able	e to hel	lp if:
~	You repaired the vehicle without giving the dealership the opportunity to repair it first.	4	A long time has passed since you bought the vehicle.
The Loui	isiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission CANNOT:		
\triangleright	Give legal advice or discuss a case prior to investigation.	\triangleright	Investigate most complaints about the condition of used
\triangleright	Recover money or property for the consumer.		cars. "AS-IS" on a contract means you pay all repair cost
\succ	Act as a go-between to settle contract terms for buyer and		after you sign the contract.
	dealer.	\succ	Force a dealer to take back a vehicle after a contract is
\triangleright	Investigate complaints against private parties.		signed.
\checkmark	Investigate complaints about a problem that did not exist at the time you bought the vehicle.		Investigate verbal agreements or statements made by the dealer about the vehicle.